Hope For Humanity

image.jpegGood morning, Good afternoon, Good evening, How are you doing?

These are the phrases i’ve heard constantly from the people of the island. Something that I very rarely experienced in my 23 years of residency in Canada.

This is what made me fall in love with the Bahamas. Sure the beaches are outstanding, the water is clear as crystal, the sun shines bright and warm on your face {most of the time}, the food is mouth watering – but would that all feel just as beautiful if the people weren’t as welcoming as they are? I don’t think so.

It doesn’t matter where you are/where you’re going, who you’re with, what you’re wearing, how messy your hair is, whether you look like you’ve been hit by a truck because you had one too many drinks the night before – the people accept you. They acknowledge you. Now, some of you may be asking yourselves “what’s the big deal-so what if someone on the street said good morning?” This is HUGE! I have never experienced a more closely knit community than in Freeport.

Living {even just visiting} here provides the biggest sense of belonging. The vibes here, everyone is so happy. Humans feed off of other humans energy, so how would one expect to strive and unlock the full potential of happiness if it wasn’t in a place like this ? Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like the community of a location really determines the beauty of the rest of it. I’m sticking to it.

People are SO important, after all, unless you are a hermit and don’t leave your house {ever} you have to interact with people almost every day of your life. Okay. Blah blah blah, my point is – when your opportunity arises, choose to live/visit somewhere like here, on an island, where everyone acknowledges everyone. It’s the only way. Seriously.

Leave a comment